WWW Wednesday #21 – 23 June 2021

Despite my intentions of last week I’ve only taken one book off my current reading list, but added two in its place! However my three current Pigeonhole reads all finish tomorrow, so that will be three finished books at least for next week’s post.

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam A. Stevens on Taking on a World of Words.

The three Ws are:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’re read next?

Work in Progress by Dan Brotzel, Martin Jenkins and Alex Wolff

This is my first read each morning. The email format hasn’t lost it’s freshness and the antics of this eccentric creative writing group brings a smile to the start of the day.

The First Day of Spring by Nancy Tucker

This is absolutely brilliant. The chapters just fly by although the subject matter is hard to read. My heart is breaking for everyone in this cycle of neglect and trauma.

Suspects by Lesley Pearce

The only thing keeping me reading this are the comments from other Pigeonhole readers. The comments are full of amusing snark about this poorly written book full of one-dimensional characters defined by the author’s obsession with describing their weight and what they’re wearing.

Rebel Ideas by Matthew Syed

I haven’t made any progress with this one this week.

A Man With One of Those Faces by Caimh McDonnell

Having adored Caimh’s newest book The Stranger Times (writing as CK McDonnell) I’ve finally gotten around to starting his Dublin trilogy on audiobook. It’s just as well I’m moving house soon, because I’ve been getting some funny looks laughing out loud to this brilliantly written story while walking the dog.

The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

I’m enjoying this book, the first in the Dr Ruth Galloway series. It was the last book I expected to find links with the House of Earth and Blood in, but both contain references to Norse water spirits, and it’s always fun to spot common reference points between books.

House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

After being underwhelmed by the first part of this book, I ended up in tears at the fate of some of the characters. A much stronger end than beginning. My review.

Down By The Water by Elle Connel

Meet Me In Another Life by Catriona Silvey

The Hunt and The Kill by Holly Watt

Okay, so I’ll clear three books off my reading list tomorrow, but I’m already signed up for these three new ones starting on Pigeonhole before the end of this month!

Have you read any of these? Do you have any recommendations for me to add to my TBR list? I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

Published by Lisa Potter

A professional communicator who loves reading for leisure and learning.

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #21 – 23 June 2021

  1. I really like Crossing Places and have read all of Elly Griffiths books. Glad that you are enjoying it. I will be interested to see what you think about the Matthew Syed. I heard him speak a couple of years ago and he was excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your comments about Suspects made me chuckle, although it’s a shame it’s not living up to expectations. It’s a shame isn’t it when there’s something in a book that catches your attention and it distracts you from concentrating on the story. It seems the sort of thing an editor should point out. Although perhaps they did and there were even more mentions in previous drafts!

    Here’s my WWW https://whatcathyreadnext.wordpress.com/2021/06/23/wwwwednesday-23rd-june-2021/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started