Raising Hell

A fun story for fans of Buffy or Supernatural.

Book title

Raising Hell

Author

Bryony Pearce

Standalone or series

Series (first in a planned series).

First time reading this author?

Yes

Why I picked this

I’m a fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Supernatural, and this sounded like a similar theme of the reluctant taking on of responsibility to combat the occult in our world.

Review copy or purchase

Thank you to the author, publishers UCLan Publishing and NetGalley for access to an advance review ebook. This is an honest and voluntary review.

What it’s about

Grieving teens turn to magic to try and resurrect their dead peer. The spell goes wrong and tears a hole in the fabric of reality giving more teens the chance to use dark magic to try and resolve their fears. As one of the original group Ivy’s guilt drives her to try and protect teenagers from themselves and from magic, but can she stop the hounds of hell tearing apart one misguided girl and stop zombies from taking over London?

Review

This was a fun palate cleanser after a run of complex stories. A Buffy-esque tale of a young woman trying to compensate for her role in unleashing dark forces on the world by working school security.

At the London school where Ivy works the security guards aren’t looking for knives or even guns. Disaffected teens don’t turn to drugs to solve their problems, they turn to ancient occult texts instead. Norah Ortega is no different, but by the time Ivy spots something suspicious Norah had already unleashed hell hounds on her unsuspecting classmates. Ivy is able to get the situation under control, but is then fired because Norah’s powerful family blame Ivy for what happened.

No sooner has Ivy returned home and confessed all to Gran – her grandmother’s spirit trapped in the body of a cat – than Norah turns up begging for Ivy’s help to escape the hell hound which has now turned its attention to Norah.

Cue a darkly funny tale of zombies, hell hounds and atonement as Ivy, Norah, Norah’s brother Nicholas and Gran try to stop hell and raise Ivy’s teen boyfriend from the grave while they’re at it.

Rating

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: